Tools to help you
along on your pursuit

“The 5 Levels of Leadership,” John C. Maxwell

In “The 5 Levels of Leadership,” John C. Maxwell offers readers a comprehensive guide to understanding and implementing effective leadership. Maxwell’s insightful framework categorizes leadership into five distinct levels, each building upon the previous one. In this blog, we will explore Maxwell’s five levels and discuss how they can help you become a more influential and impactful leader in your personal and professional life.

1. Position

The first level of leadership is Position. At this stage, people follow you because they have to. It’s leadership by authority. You hold a position or title that demands compliance. While it’s the starting point for many leaders, it’s also the most basic level, as it lacks genuine influence. To move beyond this level, you must demonstrate competence and gain trust.

2. Permission

The second level is Permission. Here, leadership is about building relationships. People follow you because they want to, not because they have to. At this stage, leaders connect with their team on a personal level, earning their trust and respect. Building strong relationships is key to advancing to the next levels of leadership.

3. Production

The third level, Production, marks the transition from being a likable leader to a highly effective one. At this stage, leaders are results-driven and focus on achieving tangible outcomes. When leaders consistently deliver results, their influence grows, and their teams become more productive. Leadership through production earns both trust and credibility.

4. People Development

The fourth level, People Development, is where leadership becomes transformational. Leaders at this level prioritize developing others and helping them reach their full potential. By empowering and mentoring team members, leaders create a culture of growth and development. Your success is now measured by the success of those you lead.

5. Pinnacle

The fifth and final level of leadership is Pinnacle. At this stage, leaders have developed a significant and lasting impact. They are not only influential in their organizations but in their industries and communities as well. Pinnacle leaders are known for their integrity, vision, and ability to inspire others. Their influence extends far beyond their immediate sphere of control.


“The 5 Levels of Leadership” provides a roadmap for anyone seeking to enhance their leadership skills. By understanding these five levels and working to progress through them, you can become a more influential, respected, and effective leader. Remember that leadership is a journey, and it’s essential to continually develop your skills and abilities.

At The Pursuit, we understand the value of effective leadership in personal growth and professional success. Our counseling services offer a safe and supportive environment for individuals who aspire to become better leaders. By recognizing the significance of the five levels of leadership and incorporating these principles into your personal and professional life, you can unlock your full leadership potential and create a more positive and successful future.

Leave a Reply

Book Now

Are you ready to pursue
your journey with us?